فهم الإدمان والعلاجات

28 مارس 2022

إساءة استخدام المواد المخدرة هي مشكلة اجتماعية دائمة تؤدي إلى أشكال مختلفة من الإدمان. وفقًا لمركز الولايات المتحدة للسيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها ، حدثت أكثر من 81000 حالة وفاة بسبب الجرعات الزائدة من المخدرات في الولايات المتحدة خلال الاثني عشر شهرًا الماضية - وهو أعلى رقم تم تسجيله على الإطلاق.

وفي الوقت نفسه ، سجل مكتب الإحصاءات الوطنية في المملكة المتحدة زيادة حادة في الوفيات المرتبطة بالكحول أثناء وبعد إغلاق Covid-19 الأول ، بزيادة قدرها 16.4%. خلال أول أمر بمراقبة الحركة في ماليزيا بدأ في مارس من العام الماضي ، تم اعتقال حوالي 3923 شخصًا بسبب جرائم متعلقة بالمخدرات خلال الشهر الأول.

نظرًا لأن العزلة تتعايش مع الإدمان ، فقد فاقمت MCOs زيادة الاستخدام والوفيات ذات الصلة ليس فقط في المواد ولكن أيضًا الإدمان السلوكي مثل المقامرة عبر الإنترنت والمواد الإباحية. وإدراكًا لذلك ، قامت ماليزيا مؤخرًا بإعادة النظر في سياساتها لتشمل علاج متعاطي المخدرات بدلاً من شروط السجن القاسية. في الواقع ، من المقرر استبدال قانون المدمنين على المخدرات (العلاج وإعادة التأهيل) لعام 1983 بقانون تعاطي المخدرات والمواد المخدرة المقترح في وقت لاحق من هذا العام. ومن ثم فقد حان الوقت لإعادة النظر في نماذج العلاج الحالية لمعالجة هذا القلق على الصحة العامة بشكل أفضل. يعد فهم الإدمان والعلاجات أمرًا حيويًا لإنشاء خطة أكثر استدامة للتعافي على المدى الطويل.

ما هو الإدمان؟

الإدمان ، أو اضطراب تعاطي المخدرات ، هو عدم القدرة على الامتناع عن تعاطي المخدرات. أعلنت الجمعية الطبية الأمريكية رسميًا أن الإدمان على الكحول مرض في عام 1956. ومع ذلك ، لم يتم اعتبار الإدمان رسميًا إلا بعد 33 عامًا.

بالنسبة لماليزيا ، فإن المنشطات من نوع الأمفيتامين مثل أقراص الميثامفيتامين أو الإكستاسي هي أكثر العقاقير تعاطيًا ، تليها المواد الأفيونية مثل الهيروين والمورفين ، وكذلك الحشيش.

في الفترة من كانون الثاني (يناير) إلى حزيران (يونيو) 2020 ، كان هناك ما مجموعه 95505 متعاطي مخدرات ومخدرات في البلاد. وفي الوقت نفسه ، يمكن القول إن استخدام التبغ بين الماليزيين قد استقر ، حيث في عام 2015 ، كان 22.8% من الأفراد فوق سن 15 مدخنين للسجائر ، مقارنة بـ 21.3% في عام 2019. يعد فهم الإدمان والعلاج طريقة رائعة لتثقيف وتمكين الذات حول إدارة التعافي.

الإدمان الشائع

نحن نعلم اليوم أن هناك نسبة صغيرة من السكان معرضون لخطر التبعية بشكل أكبر بسبب ميولهم البيولوجية والنفسية والاجتماعية. عامل آخر هو الإطلاق السريع للناقل العصبي الدوبامين في أنظمة المكافأة في الدماغ بسبب إساءة استخدام المواد.

خذ النيكوتين على سبيل المثال. النيكوتين مركب موجود بشكل طبيعي في النباتات ، وتحديداً عائلة Solanaceae ، والتي تشمل الطماطم والبطاطس وأوراق التبغ. ومع ذلك ، فقط في أوراق التبغ يمكنك العثور على كمية كبيرة لإنتاج الإجراء الدوائي المطلوب.

أظهرت لي السنوات التي أمضيتها في التعامل مع المرضى أن النيكوتين - وخاصة في شكل السجائر - مادة مسببة للإدمان. يتم توصيله بسرعة إلى الدماغ وينتج تأثيرًا معززًا مشابهًا للأمفيتامينات أو الكحول. المدخنون يصبحون مدمنين ولسوء الحظ يصابون بمشاكل صحية بسبب التعرض للسموم الموجودة في دخان السجائر وليس النيكوتين.

علاج الإدمان في ماليزيا؛ باستخدام الأساليب القائمة على الأدلة

من المؤكد أن الإقلاع عن هذه العادة ليس بالأمر السهل ، لأن الإدمان مرض يتطلب مناهج علاجية علمية. من واقع خبرتي في مجال علم نفس الإدمان ، أنا مقتنع بأن نهج العلاج المتكامل الذي يجمع بين التدخلات المختلفة مثل العلاج السلوكي المعرفي والوقاية من الانتكاس والأدوات العلاجية الأخرى فعال.

المفتاح هو إدراك أن نماذج العلاج قد تتطور أو تتكيف وستستمر. بالتأكيد ، فإن نموذج الامتناع عن ممارسة الجنس في العلاج ليس هو الخيار الوحيد.

في العقدين الماضيين ، نجحت ماليزيا في استخدام الأدوية لعلاج متعاطي المخدرات ، بما في ذلك علاج الصيانة الناهضة لمدمني الهيروين وعلاجات استبدال النيكوتين لمستخدمي التبغ. كانت هذه الأساليب ناجحة في الغالب. على سبيل المثال ، ثبت أن برنامج تبادل الحقن بالإبر التابع لمجموعة العمل المعنية بالحد من الضرر في ماليزيا اعتبارًا من عام 2004 طريقة فعالة وآمنة وفعالة من حيث التكلفة في احتواء انتشار فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية (HIV) بين مستخدمي الحقن. على نحو متزايد في أماكن أخرى ، يتم استخدام استراتيجيات الحد من الضرر ، مثل السجائر الإلكترونية ومنتجات التبغ الساخن كبديل للسجائر القابلة للاحتراق.

لقد قطعت ماليزيا شوطًا طويلاً في علاج الإدمان ، حيث تطورت من العقاب إلى برامج العلاج وإعادة التأهيل والعلاج البديل والأدوية. استراتيجيات الحد من الضرر هي المرحلة المنطقية التالية ، خاصة في السلوكيات الضارة مثل التدخين. لإدارة هذا "الوباء غير المرئي" بشكل أفضل ، يجب أن تكون هناك مرونة في قبول أساليب العلاج.

بريم كومار شانموجام هو المؤسس والرئيس التنفيذي لأكاديمية Solace و Solace Wellness و Solace Asia Addiction Retreat.

موقع شبكي خاص بـ

Solace Asia

اتصل بنا اليوم

حقوق النشر © 2022 Solace Asia. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
arArabic

Understanding addictions and treatments

Addiction is a social stigma but understanding it will enable for better treatment and social relationships.

SUBSTANCE misuse is an enduring social problem leading to various forms of addictions. According to the United States Center for Disease Control and Prevention, over 81,000 drug overdose deaths occurred in the US in the past 12 months – the highest number ever recorded.

Meanwhile, the United Kingdom’s Office of National Statistics recorded a sharp increase in alcohol-related fatalities during and after the first Covid-19 lockdown, up 16.4%. During Malaysia’s first movement control order (MCO) that began in March last year, about 3,923 people were detained for drug-related offences within the first month.

As isolation co-exists with addiction, the MCOs have further exacerbated increased usage and related deaths in not only substance but also behavioural addictions such as online gambling and pornography. Recognising this, Malaysia has recently revisited its policies to include treatment for substance misusers instead of draconian jail terms. Indeed, the Drug Dependants (Treatment and Rehabilitation) Act 1983 is due to be replaced by the proposed Drug and Substance Abuse Act later this year. It is hence timely to revisit existing treatment models to better address this public health concern. Understanding addictions and treatments are vital to create a more sustainable plan for long-term recovery.

What is addiction?

Addiction, or substance misuse disorder, is the inability to abstain from abusing substances. The American Medical Association officially declared alcoholism as an illness in 1956. However, it was not until 33 years later that addiction was officially termed a disease.

For Malaysia, amphetamine-type stimulants such as methamphetamine tablets or Ecstasy are the most abused drugs, followed by opiates like heroin and morphine, as well as cannabis.

From January to June 2020, there were a total of 95,505 drug and substance misusers in the country. Meanwhile, tobacco use among Malaysians has arguably plateaued, where in 2015, 22.8% of individuals above age 15 were cigarette smokers, compared to 21.3% in 2019. Understanding addictions and treatments are a great way to educate and empower oneself around managing recovery.

Common addictions

We know today that there is a small percentage of the population who are at a higher risk of dependency mainly because of their biological, psychological and social predispositions. Another factor is the rapid release of the neurotransmitter dopamine in the reward systems of the brain caused by abusing the substances.

Take nicotine for example. Nicotine is a compound naturally found in plants, specifically the Solanaceae family, which includes tomatoes, potatoes and tobacco leaves. However, only in tobacco leaves can you find a considerable amount to produce the desired pharmacological action.

My years dealing with patients have shown me that nicotine – especially in the form of cigarettes – is an addictive substance. It is rapidly delivered to the brain and produces a reinforcement effect similar to amphetamines or alcohol. Smokers become addicted and unfortunately develop health problems due to exposure to toxins in cigarette smoke, and not nicotine.

Treating addiction in Malaysia; using evidence-based methods

Kicking the habit is certainly not easy, given that addiction is a disease that requires scientific treatment approaches. From my experience in the addiction psychology field, I am convinced that an integrated treatment approach combining various interventions such as cognitive behavioural therapy, relapse prevention and other therapeutic tools is effective.

The key is to realise that treatment models have and will continue to evolve or adapt. Certainly, the abstinence model of treatment is not the only option.

In the last two decades, Malaysia has successfully used medications to treat substance misusers, including agonist maintenance treatment for heroin dependents and nicotine replacement therapies for tobacco users. These methods have been mostly successful. For instance, the needle syringe exchange programme of the Harm Reduction Working Group of Malaysia from 2004 was proven to be an effective, safe and cost-effective method in containing the spread of human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) among syringe users. Increasingly elsewhere, harm reduction strategies are being used, such as e-cigarette and heated tobacco products to substitute for combustible cigarettes.

Malaysia has come a long way in treating addictions, evolving from punishment to treatment and rehabilitation programmes, replacement therapy and medication. Harm reduction strategies are the logical next phase, especially in harmful behaviours like smoking. To better manage this ‘invisible pandemic’, there needs to be flexibility in accepting treatment approaches.

Dr Prem Kumar Shanmugam is the Founder and Chief Executive Officer of Solace Academy, Solace Wellness and Solace Asia Addiction Retreat.

Leave a Reply

en_USEnglish